Review: The 5th Wave

Standard

Title: The 5th Wave

Author: Rick Yancey

Genre: Supernatural

Rating: 9/10

Recommend to: Alien Apocalypse Fans

Type: Paperback

Date Read: 28th August, 2013

No. in Series: #1

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I have read some alien books (Lux series, I am Number Four series) but I haven’t read a alien apocalypse book and I will now actively seek them out. This book is amazing and makes you question so many things in your life.

This book is set in a world where only a small percentage of the earth’s population is still alive. Cassie Sullivan is part of that percentage and so is her little brother but her brother was taken and it is up to Cassie to get him back even if it means trusting her enemy.

This book was so good and I hoped it would be because if you write a book about apocalypse you need to make sure it’s good because a book about an apocalypse easily be really bad but if it is written well and the plot is interesting, then people will love it and this is what happened with this book.

This book is told from a few different pov’s and the first change was really confusing because it doesn’t tell you that it changed it just does, so I was really unprepared. You get used to it after a while but I wonder why he didn’t write the characters name, he probably has a reason.

I’m a little surprised to know that a lot of people disliked Cassie and I’m not afraid to say that she was my favourite character in this book. She was so smart, so strong and so resilient. I just thought that she was a great character. The only flaw I found about her, was that she had insta-love with Evan.

I could never guess what was coming. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen *boom* plot twist. It was so exciting and thrilling to never know what was going to happen. The plot is perfectly fast-paced.

The romance between Cassie and Evan is cute but it isn’t the book. The book is the plot.

Review for Infinite Sea: https://jamminsinfinitebookshelf.wordpress.com/2014/12/16/review-the-infinite-sea/

One thought on “Review: The 5th Wave

Leave a comment